Skip to content

Sunday Dinner = Epic

August 16, 2010
tags: ,

Good Morning!

Before I get to the epic meal that was my Sunday dinner, a little recap of the weekend that wasn’t.

I don’t know what it was about this past weekend, but it just was not relaxing or fun.  I didn’t even come close to getting what I want accomplished, but shit happens right?  Saw The Expendables Friday night and for an action movie, it was good and just what I expected.  Yesterday afternoon we went to see Scott Pilgrim and I can honestly say, it was very underwhelming.  Both C and I were looking forward to seeing that one. It had so much potential to be different and amazing! Sadly, we both left the theatre disappointed.

Despite everything, the weekend still went out with a bang – literally! (We had quite the thunder storm last night)  But seriously, dinner was pretty epic.

I’d like to thank Angela for being a food genius and my inspiration here. 😉 Last week she made this post containing a recipe for Black Bean and Summer Squash Enchiladas.  After drooling a bit, I was immediately inspired to create my own version of these for Sunday supper this past weekend. Since C and I both eat meat, I decided to incorporate extra lean ground turkey into the mix. The end result = this:

C was actually practically speechless after he took his first bite. It wasn’t long before he had devoured two of them! Needless to say, this is definitely a recipe for the keeper file, and definitely one worth sharing.

Turkey & Black Bean Enchiladas

1lb ground turkey
1/2 onion
1-2 cloves of garlic
1 zucchini
1/2 can of black beans
1tsp chili powder
1tsp cumin
dash of salt
low fat cottage cheese (not 1% or 2%, but basically the skim milk version)
tomato sauce
grated low fat marble cheese
1 green onion
4 wraps (I used Dempster’s Ancient Grains ones)

First I browned the turkey in a non-stick pan (this way absolutely NO OIL was needed).  When it was almost browned, I added the garlic, onion, beans, zucchini, and spices and continued to cook.

Once the mixture was cooked, I spooned some onto a wrap, then topped with about a tbsp of the low fat cottage cheese.

I managed to make 4 of these and squeezed them into my baking pan (again no oil or butter needed to grease it or anything).  Then I topped it with some tomato sauce, grated cheese and green onion.  I baked at 400 Deg. for about 20 minutes. Note: I did have quite a bit of mix left over. I simply put it in the freezer and plan to use it for more enchiladas, or even as a base for a simple chili. 🙂

These were honestly, no joke, off the hook!!!

I wasn’t super hungry last night, so I decided to skip making a salad and only had one of these.  My plate:

Like I said, C was literally speechless when eating these. To make something that makes him speechless is definitely epic in my mind!

After the supper of epic proportions, I proceeded to make us some cold beverages for the week.  We bought these really nice glass jugs at the Superstore yesterday afternoon to allow us to store our own iced coffee and iced tea. I’m someone who just can’t handle my hot coffee and tea when it’s so hot outside.  We don’t like using plastic jugs, so we were happy when we finaly found these nice glass ones.

I like  to have the coffee on hand in the fridge for my morning iced coffees (I pour some over ice with some skim milk). We also thought it would be great to have our on iced tea on hand.  So I added 2 green tea bags to a pot of boiling water. I let it steep for about a 1/2 hour or so, removed the bags and added 1/2 a lime and 1/2 a lemon (funny how the lime sank and the lemon floated!). This is the first time I make the tea and I realize now that I probably could have used maybe only 1 or 2 slices of each lemon and lime. Live and learn though right? 🙂

Hope you have a great week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 12:20 pm

    Okay “yummers”!! Ummm pictures are excellent what kind of camara are you using??? lol!

    Lucy

  2. August 16, 2010 8:43 pm

    Those look awesome! I’m gonna make them, minus the cheeses.

Trackbacks

  1. A Date Night « Tidbits From My Mind

Leave a comment