Skip to content

Our Bodies = Amazing.

March 18, 2010

If you’ve been dabbling around my blog for a while you might know that in January I decided that I wanted to become a runner.  And if you’re wondering what I’m talking about, just click the running tab above. 😉

I ran a lot as a kid, but basically hadn’t done any other physical activity besides horseback riding ever since. When I decided to start running with these set goals in mind, the idea sounded amazing and so attainable. But once I actually started my current training program I remember saying to myself “what am I getting myself in to?” I’m 26 years old, considered myself to be fit since I ride at least 4 times a week, but I was having trouble running for longer than 1 minute at a time!

Fast-track to now, 9 weeks later.  I only have one run left and I will be considered a ‘graduate’ of the program and I am now able to run 5KM at a time taking just over 30 minutes!! 9 short weeks ago, I thought that goal was going to be so hard to attain. Even though I had read about countless people finding success in the program, there was still this tiny part of me that expressed some doubt.  I then decided that I couldn’t let negative thoughts like that run my life.  I knew at that moment that I really could do anything I put my mind to, so I powered through each workout, three times a week, and my body has amazed me! In only 9 short weeks, I went from being a non-runner to a runner!

It just blows my mind how amazing out bodies can adapt. With the right diet, mentality (that’s a BIG one) and right training programs I truly believe that pretty much anything is attainable.  It’s as if our bodies are just big masses of clay just waiting to be moulded into something great.

It’s amazing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 2:32 pm

    As soon as this cast is off and I am allowed to exercise again, I am starting the program with my friend LJ

    • March 18, 2010 3:00 pm

      That’s awesome! 🙂 I’d love to come out running with you sometime too once you get into it.

  2. March 20, 2010 1:17 pm

    I’ve only just recently started exercising by walking/running in the park before work. And I’m amazed at what my body can do.

    I’ve never kept fit and I’ve smoked for 5 years. It’s fair to say that expecting me to be incredibly unfit is totally acceptable. However, I’m apparently not. I can do a lot more than I thought I could and that makes me happy.. 🙂

    It’s great to hear that in just 9 weeks you had that kind of progress. Makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.. 😀

    xx

Leave a Reply

