Skip to content

A Week Night Chicken & Dumpling Soup

November 26, 2010

This past Monday morning, as I sat at my desk and began catching up my blog-reading, I came across something that really caught my eye – and most importantly, my stomach. 😉

Julie, over at Peanut Butter Fingers had made a post about her growing dumplings in a chicken soup, I just knew that I had to have that for supper that day. I literally could not stop thinking about and tasting chicken soup all day long!

It just so happened that I had a pack of chicken legs thawing in the fridge, along with 3/4 of a container of chicken stock that HAD to be used up. Awesome!

I rushed home from the farm and got cooking!

The end result:

This soup contains:

  • 3/4C of low sodium chicken stock
  • approx. 1.5-2C of water
  • 1 small onion – diced
  • 1 clove of garlic – minced
  • 2 carrots – sliced
  • 1 stalk of celery – diced
  • about 10 mushrooms – sliced
  • 1 large red potato – chopped into small cubes
  • meat from 5 chicken legs – shredded
  • 2C kale
  • 1/2 tsp thyme

– First I sauteed all of the vegetables, then added the liquid followed by the chicken and thyme. 

While that’s simmering away, move on to your dumplings.

The dumplings contain:

  • 1/4C whole wheat pasty flour
  • 1.5 tbsp softened butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • a few shakes of thyme
  • a few shakes of garlic powder
  • 1/4C skim milk

– First I mixed all of the dry ingredients with a fork until the mixture was crumbly.  I then stirred in the milk until it became a doughy consistancy.  Next, I dropped spoonfuls into my soup one at a time.  This made 5 little dumplings. Perfect for a little batch of week night soup.

Let it all cook for about 7-8 minutes and add your kale.  Simmer for an additional 5 minutes and serve away! 🙂

This soup was a definite hit and one for the vault.

Have a great weekend!!!

I forsee a lot of baking for me in the next couple of days. 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 3:43 am

    Your chicken dumpling soup looks really comforting and delicious. I want nothing else but that bowl for tonight.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment