Skip to content

A Dessert For Two

November 10, 2010

It only took me to nights to realize that this time change really isn’t so bad after all. 😉

I headed up to the farm for my regular Tuesday night right on Chels again in the dark.  We had a great workout and the bustling barn made for some fun and great conversations.  Once I was all finished up, I took a few steps out of the barn into the darkness, took a deep breath, and looked up.  It was at that exact moment where any tension from the day just completely melted away and without even realizing it, a big smile formed on my face.  I wish I had a decent camera at this moment because as I gazed into the darkness above, I was greeted by an endless sea of stars.  To those of you who live in cities, you don’t know stars until you get to experience them way out in the country-side … so if you’ve never seen them like that, make that something to add to your bucket list.  The next few months of dark evenings won’t be so bad now that I know that I’ll get that sight each time I leave the farm.

Since it was a riding night, that also meant that it would be a late-to-get-home night.  On the menu – tuna cakes just like last week.  They were a hit, so it was a must-have for this week’s menu. 😉 

 

C was going to be even later coming home so I wanted to surprise him with a little dessert. …who am I kidding? I wanted dessert too! So I whipped up a little something. Quick and Simple.

Apple Crisp For Two

I started out by peeling and slicing one big MacIntosh apple (my fav) and then I tossed the slices in 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a sprinkle of brown sugar.

I then split the apples and spread them into 2 ramekins

Meanwhile I mixed some oats, whole wheat flour and brown sugar in a bowl – then stirred in about 1tbsp softened butter. (sorry no measurements, but it’s easy to judge) 😉

I then split the mixture and topped both of my ramekins while pressing the mixture down.

Lastly, I sprinkled about 2 tbsp of water on top of each before baking at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

The result, 2 personal sized apple crisps! 🙂

Yum!!!

It was definitely nice and warm in my tummy. 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

