Skip to content

A Pumpkin-Lover’s Dream

November 9, 2010

*this post is especially for Shelley, a co-worker of C who has been sampling this over the past few weeks*

As we all know, fall brings along a short-lived abundance of pumpkin. So naturally, I have been taking full advantage over the past few weeks making things such as pumpkin cookies, to pumpkin butter, to MANY pumpkin loaves.  I can’t believe I haven’t actually posted a pumpkin loaf before today, especially since I have made probably 4 or 5 in the past few weeks!! It’s just that this thing is so darn good, both C and I have the knife tearing into the thing literally as soon as it comes out of the oven and no notice is made to whether a photo is taken or not!

So this past Friday I finally remembered to take some photos and am ready to share this gem.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf

What you need:

  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 C unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 C water
  • 1 1/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C semi sweet mini chocolate chips

What to do:

– In a large bowl whisk together the flours, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger and salt until blended. (I know that’s a wooden spoon in the picture, but I remembered after taking this shot that a whisk works better)

– In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs and water – then add the sugar and blend well. Next, add the pumpkin, canola and vanilla. Blend well.

– Now add your pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients and whisk together until blended and smooth.

– Next add your chocolate chips 🙂

– Line your loaf pan with parchment paper – this way no butter or oil is needed to grease your pan

– Pour in all of your mixture

– Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 55 min – 1 hour.  Your loaf is ready when you can poke with  a fork or toothpick and it comes out clean.

This far surpasses banana bread in my mind.

And I love banana bread!! 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. shelley permalink
    November 14, 2010 8:16 pm

    Thanks Laura for posting the recipe. I am making it tonight, so I hope mine turns out as good as yours

    • November 16, 2010 9:26 am

      Let me know how it works out 🙂

      • shelley permalink
        November 22, 2010 12:38 pm

        it was delicious. I will definitely be making it again!

  2. November 14, 2010 9:30 pm

    Yummy!

Leave a comment