Skip to content

The Cold Has Set In

November 2, 2010

Well, it’s been two mornings in a row now that I awake to -5 temperatures outside and frost all over my roof and lawn. The cold has arrived (along with the dark this weekend when the time changes). Sigh…

I bundled up after work last night and made my way out to the farm to ride my crabby little mare.  You see, Chelsea REALLY hates the cold and acts like she is mad at the world if it’s not warm enough outside. The poor girl. 😉 At least she’s starting to get her furry winter coat! (not sure if you can tell?)

Her cranky little act lasted until we got into the arena and I hopped on.  Then we had a pretty great work out. I even worked up a sweat in this cold!

Isn’t it awesome how she’s turning black with her winter coat?

 

Not so awesome = how dark it was when we finished up last night! :S and the time hasn’t even changed yet! Meaning next week, it will already be this dark when I arrive at the farm after work. 😦

Oh well! Nothing I can do about mother nature!  I shall just begin my countdown to the shortest day of the year in December and then look forward to more day light again. 😉

Since I was snapping shots of Chels last night, I was later than normal getting home.

Late getting home = making supper a little bit on the fly.

We had lots of leftovers in the fridge, one thing being some potato that needed to be eaten.  On my drive home, I though to my self “what can I do with leftover potato?”

So I whipped up something I had never made before.

Tuna-Potato Pancakes

What I did:

  •  mashed up the leftover potato
  • added 1 can of tuna
  • 2 diced green onions
  • 1 tbsp low-fat mayo
  • 1 egg
  • a few sprinkles of herb & garlic (no salt) seasoning
  • mixed it all together to form a ‘pancake’
  • fried in a teeny bit of olive oil
  • served with a squirt of fresh lemon juice

Served with a simple salad = Awesome.

I wish there were leftovers for me to have tonight!!! But there’s an avocado at home calling my name. 😉

Oh! and just for something cute to leave you with… (and to keep on the animal theme of the morning)

I snapped these pictures of my little fur babies Sunday and forgot to post them yesterday!

Now this is love.

Have a great day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 10:05 am

    Aww. All your animals are so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

