Skip to content

A Post of Bests

October 22, 2010

First off, last night I made the BEST fries that I have EVER made!

They

were

incredible!!!

My mom watched Rachel Ray yesterday and called me right away about her fry recipe.  I soaked in the information and this is what I did…

I took 2 red potatoes and 1 sweet potato.

I peeled the sweet potato only and sliced everything into ‘fries’.  Then I tossed them in a tiny bit of olive oil while seasoning with salt and pepper.

Next, I put a piece of parchment on a cookie sheet and topped it with my metal cooling rack.  The fries were then spread out over the rack like so..

I then baked them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

At the 30 minute mark, I took them out, loosened them up a bit and sprinkled them with some garlic powder.  They then went BACK in the oven at 425 degrees for an additional 15 minutes.

OK.

No word of a lie, I have never been able to successfully cook sweet potato fries without them coming out soggy.  This is the FIRST time ever that they were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will never ever make my own fries any other way again.

BEST FRIES EVER!!!

While these babies were working their magic in the oven, I also cooked up some chicken thighs and roasted broccoli.  Made for a great meal. 🙂

Now let’s fast forward to my breakfast this morning.

I have been making poached eggs for quite some time now but have never been able to master them without leaving a lot of wasted protein in the pot.

Well, like the fries last night, this morning I made the BEST POACHED EGGS EVER! 🙂

The trick? absolutely NO stirring or movement of the water as I add the eggs and a LOT of vinegar.  I had heard that vinegar had worked before and have used it in the past, but I’m guessing I didn’t use as much.  Needless to say, the eggs this morning were awesome and I most likely will be making them again tomorrow morning to make sure it wasn’t just a fluke. 😉

I had these with a green monster that included about 1/2 c frozen strawberries, 1 macintosh apple, 2 C baby spinach, 1/2 a banana and some apple juice.

And I also had a coffee. 😉  … I must also admit that I have 100% kicked my sugar in coffee habit!!!  Now my coffee only consists of coffee and skim milk. Yum!!

What a great 12 hours of bests! 🙂

Happy Friday everyone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 9:30 am

    OMG those do look incredible!!! yummmmmm

Leave a Reply

