Skip to content

Beating The Rain

October 13, 2010

I did something this evening that I surprisingly have not done for a while now.

I went for a run.

🙂

Believe it or not, I had not run since the Terry Fox Run weeks ago.  Why did it take me so long to get back out there? I don’t want to make up excuses because that’s what they are. Excuses.  Yes I was sick for a week, but as soon as I got better, I should have been out covering some ground.  All things aside, I finally got that itch again this afternoon and rushed home to get out there and beat the pending rain – which is now falling.

As someone who sweats A LOT no matter what, I was pretty happy about being cold enough to be able to go out with a light long sleeved top on. (It was about 13 degrees C)

I knew going out that I just wanted to do a short and quick run for 2 reasons.  The first being that the sky was starting to get pretty dark and I didn’t want to get stuck out in the rain because I wasn’t dressed properly for a cold rain and the second being that it had been weeks.  I set out on one of my favourite quick routes and while incorporating several sprints (I need to do some speed work), I managed to cover 3.1km in 18:31

Not too shabby after so much time off! 🙂

It started spitting just before my turning point and luckily I made it home before it started raining harder so I consider this run a success!

I came home just starving so I had a little piece of pumpkin bread as a snack along with my water to tide me over for my supper. 😉

Chicken sliders on the menu for tonight!!! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

