Skip to content

Barley For Breakfast – Part II

October 1, 2010

I have to start off by saying that I had an absolutely amazing ride last night on Chelsea.  We had the place to ourselves, it was extremely quiet out and everything just clicked how it was supposed to.  The workout was fantastic and I left the farm with a big smile on my face. 

Awesome.

As I was on my drive home, my mind was racing trying to figure out what I would have for supper.  We did have eggs and chicken bacon on the menu, however C was going to dinner with some former co-workers in Toronto and I wanted to save the eggs and bacon for Saturday’s road trip breakfast. So what was a girl to have?

First I cooked up a batch of whole wheat cous cous

Then I decided to add a can of tuna

Meanwhile, I sauteed some onion, garlic, zucchini and tomato

And then tossed it all together in a pot

After a squeeze of lemon, this meal was ready to go.

What to call it? Tuna-veggie Cous Cous?? not very creative eh? 😉

It tasted pretty awesome and definitely hit the spot. AND, there was more than enough leftover for C to pack for today’s lunch. Score!

After supper, I found myself freezing on the couch despite the fact that I was wrapped up in a blanket, so I decided to make an apple sauce to warm myself up from the inside-out. 🙂

I had a lot of strawberries on hand so my usual apple sauce turned into strawberry apple sauce! The smell coming off this suff = divine!  The taste, just as good.

I ate only half of it though keeping this morning’s breakfast in mind. 😉

Breakfast!

So the barley I had soaking in the fridge never really softened how I wanted and the taste after 24hrs in the fridge soaking in milk and vanilla wasn’t the greatest. Sadly.  I really wanted barley for breakfast though so I did the next best thing – made barley!  I set some up to cook while I ate supper and watched tv last night and put it in the fridge overnight.

The result:

Barley Breakfast Parfait

In the mix, layers of barley, banana soft serve (containing 1 banana, skim milk, 1 tsp peanut butter, chia seeds), some fresh strawberry slices and topped with the rest of my strawberry apple sauce (which I had heated up).

YUUUUUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!

WOW it was amazing!!!!  Even C, who is not a huge fan of my banana soft serve breakfasts was loving it!!]

**note: I apologize for the poor quality of my pictures lately.  Unfortunately due to the time of year, it’s dark out for my breakfasts and suppers.  Lighting in my house when it’s dark out is very poor, hence the not-so-great pictures 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

