Skip to content

On The Mend

September 28, 2010

Although I’m still not feeling 100%, I think it’s safe to say that I am on the mend.

I hope!

I woke up today with a stuffed nose still and even though I’m blowing my nose like a mad woman, overall I am feeling a bit better.

Do you want to know what one of the worst things is about being sick??? Not getting any sort of workouts in!!!  I know some people are still able to workout when sick, but this cold I’ve had has left me with almost no energy to even sit on my horse!  I attempted to ride Saturday morning, but after only 10 minutes of trotting around I was just way too dizzy to continue.  Thankfully the weather has been less than perfect so my longing to run hasn’t been too too bad.  But geeze!! I just want to get better already!!

Despite how I was feeling Sunday, upon returning home from grocery shopping with C, I just had to do this one chore that I’ve been putting off literally for months!

I needed to clean my pantry.

I finally had enough of things falling on top of me every time I opened it.

Now a very good blogger would have remembered to take a picture before starting to clean. But we all know I’m not a very good blogger yet. 😉

You see, I remembered to snap my ‘before’ shot after I had already emptied and washed the first shelf.

Everything that I removed from the shelf was scattered all over my counter and stove.

After filling up about half a garbage bag with stale goods and random baking supplies that I hadn’t used in a year or more, my pantry was finally clean and ORGANIZED!

Everything now has it’s place and I promptly showed C and explained how we have to make sure it stays like this now!!! 😉

In midst of the pantry cleaning, I put together a simple, yet comforting supper.

Honey-garlic sausages (baked), butternut squash and bok choy sauteed in garlic and olive oil.

A great supper to celebrate my clean pantry!!! 😉

I was actually starting to feel pretty good by the end of the night Sunday and despite the fact that we purposly made sure we were in bed by 10pm, I didn’t get the best sleep and woke up feeling not-so-hot again yesterday.  As the day went on, my original plans to ride after work were scrapped because all I really wanted come 1pm was my comfy clothes, a blanket and my couch.

Come 5:00, I headed home, put on said comfy clothes and curled up on the couch with a hot cup of tea.  I caught up on my girly shows (ie. Heartland) and then got started on supper while I waited for C to get home from work.

On the menu for last night? 

Fish and Chips

I used sole for this and prepped it by dunking in egg and then a mixture of whole wheat bread crumbs & whole wheat flour before doing a light fry in a tiny drop of olive oil.

The ‘fries’ were simply red potatoes (my fav) sliced, tossed in olive oil, a sprinkle of salt and a sprinkle of olive oil and then baked at 425 for about 20 minutes.

The saldad – a simple romaine salad tossed in my absolute favourite garlic dressing. Recipe found here.

Yum!

I now sit here looking out at yet another grey, dreary rainy day, while blowing my nose about every 5 minutes or so.

I am on the mend right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

