Skip to content

Pineapple Apple Carrot Cake

September 22, 2010

..Perhaps we have a little tongue twister on our hands here folks? 😉

I’m pretty excited about this one.

You see, the weekend before last, whole pineapple’s were on sale at my local grocery store and I couldn’t not pick one up.  They weren’t ripe, so I bought it knowing we’d have to wait a few days before we dug into it.  Well the days went by, we got too lazy to cut that baby open and it was starting to look a little sad.  Saturday afternoon, I realized something had to be done. I just had to make something with this pineapple, so I then figured why not make a pineapple upside-down cake?

It didn’t take me long to realize that I wouldn’t be able to make a traditional pineapple upside-down cake due to my lake of ingredients – namely butter.  But then I realized I didn’t need any butter!  I’ve been working on trying to do all of my baking now with the best possible ingredients to make them as healthy as they can possibly be! I sat and thought about it for a while and then decided that I’d make a cake anyway.  I trusted my skills in the kitchen enough to wing it and produce something that was at least edible. 😉

No joke – I literally just threw these ingredients together (writing the recipe along as I went) and hoped for the best.

The result

Pineapple Apple Carrot Cake

What You Need:

  • 1 C whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 C unrefined brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 carrots, grated (avg size; about 1.5-2 C)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup (for a little extra something)
  • 1/2 C milk
  • splash of water
  • 1 apple (cooked and mashed)
  • additional 1/4 C unrefined brown sugar
  • pineapple slices – enough to fill the bottom of an 9×9 pan

What To Do:

In a small bowl, stir together whole wheat flour, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, salt – set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together carrot, egg, vanilla, maple syrup and milk.

Stir the dry ingredients into the wet and add a few splashes of water if needed – you want it to be the consistency of a cake batter.

Meanwhile, peel chop and cook your apple. (microwave for about 1 min 30 sec) then blend so that it is completely mashed.  Stir in the remaining 1/4C brown sugar and a splash of water if it’s not runny enough to pour.

Layer the pineapple in a greased 9×9 pan (just grease with a little cooking spray or a teeny bit of canola), then pour the apple/brown sugar mixture right on top.  Next pour the batter right on top as evenly as you possibly can. Some of the apple mixture will probably seep up the sides, but that’s ok.

Bake at 350 deg for approximately 35-40 minutes.  I recommend to start watching it at the 30 min mark because all ovens are different.  Cake is ready when a toothpick comes out clean.

Once baked, remove from oven and let sit for 5 minutes.  Then take your serving plate and place it upside-down on the top of your pan. Hold the sides carefully – flip – and voila!!

It’s not the prettiest cake I’ve ever made, but by golly it worked!!  The combination of the apple and pineapple completely makes this cake.  The apple sauce makes it so moist! And flavour-wise you wouldn’t even be able to tell there was no butter in this baby.

It’s definitely a recipe for my vault. 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

