Skip to content

My Lucky Shirt

September 8, 2010

I decided to wear my first ever race shirt on my run tonight. I got this baby for running the Sporting Life 10K this past May — my first race with C!

I haven’t worn this shirt to run since May 8, 2010.

Incase you didn’t know, on May 8, 2010 during a run down a gorgeous country road, while wearing this shirt, C proposed. 🙂

(lol I totally just noticed as I re-read this post that my eyes look all wonky in this pic!)

It was a little chilly when I got home tonight (in a good way) and it was raining when I left work, so I figured I better wear a T-shirt to run vs. a tank.  I’ve also been working on a goal to break the sub-30 5K…so then I wondered… maybe this shirt might bring me luck?

I felt great when I set out on my run.  The temperature was perfect, my tunes were pumping, I had a smile on my face. (I always run better after work as if it’s my stress reliever – I had a shitty day at the office)  Anyway, the only negative, and it was a big one, was the WIND! I swear I have the worst luck when it comes to wind. Every single time I plan a longer run, it’s so windy outside!

About a good 2/3 of my run was done into the wind.  Many inclines going face first into the wind =  not ideal conditions.  I didn’t think I was going to reach my goal today, but I certainly was still going to try!

I now think this shirt is lucky. 😉

I DID IT!!!!!!

For the very first time ever, I ran a sub-30min 5K!!!!

Now I know I was only under literally by .06 seconds….. but still!!! I don’t care, I’ll take those .06 seconds and run with it!

I am so proud of myself right now.  My 5K PR and I still have 11 days until my next race!

Tonight’s epic run, definitely called for an EPIC supper.

We had pizza on the menu for tonight, and although C wasn’t going to be home (he remembered last minute that he was going to the Blue Jays game with a coworker) I decided to make the pizza’s anyway.  These mini pizzas are usually C’s thing, but I took my shot at them…. vamped them up a little bit…. and am proud to say that they were definitely EPIC.

Ingredients:

And here is my step by step process so you can see how I piled all of this goodness onto my pitas. (We like to use whole wheat pitas as our crust because they’re are the perfect size and they get really nice and crispy when we bake them.)

First steps — garlic pizza sauce, zucchini slices, onion slices and bits of pineapple.

Next up was tomato slices

And then some baby spinach and extra lean ham

And finally some low-fat marble cheese to finish it off

I baked them in the oven at 425 degrees for about 10-12 minutes.

They were to die for.

I made 5 of these babies eating one and a half myself, leaving C 3 for his lunch. I think he’ll be a happy boy to come home to see those sitting on the stove tonight! 😉 lol

I’m now in the process of making a sweet potato chocolate cake!!! Yes, you read that right – I said sweet potato!!!

It just came out of the oven and smells heavenly. Stay tuned tomorrow to hear/read/see how it turned out!

I’m now off to immerse myself into the wonderful world of Big Brother. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 9:30 pm

    Awesome job on the run!

  2. September 9, 2010 10:03 am

    So I ran my first race May 8th. A 5k out in Lakefield. I am seriously not making this stuff up LOL.

Leave a Reply

