Skip to content

How To Make a Non-Broccoli Lover Like Broccoli

August 27, 2010

Happy Friday Everyone!! 🙂

Oh am I ever glad the week has finally come to an end. (or at least that the end is in sight!)  It’s been such a long week and I’m looking forward to some relaxing!!!! …relaxing this weekend means – get housework done tonight baby! …

I couldn’t believe how cold it was outside this morning when I left for work!  Only 11 degrees!! After the super hot summer we’ve had, the fresh and cold temperature was definitely welcome in my mind. I’m really looking forward to fall now and am not looking forward to the 30 degree temperatures we’re supposed to have this weekend. Oh how I wish I lived somewhere where the temps stayed a constant 18-25 deg. ….. In a perfect world. 😉

Last night was a riding night, so I headed to the farm straight after work.  I wasn’t too impressed with what I found when I arrived.  I arrived to find Chelsea outside, with one half of her body completely CAKED in mud! DISGUSTING!!! I wish I had my camera on hand to show you all!  As a horse owner, when you show up to find your horse in a state like that, all you can do is laugh, roll your eyes, and beg them to never do it again!  I got most of the mud off before we had our ride – which was awesome btw – and then, because she STANK, I gave her a quick bath with yummy smelling Ivory soap.

Hopefully I don’t find a mud ball when I go up again tomorrow!

It was a bbq night when I got home. On the menu = pork chops, broccoli and salad.  We bought this pork loin roast probably a month or so again from No Frills.  It came pre sliced into chops and only cost us $7!!!  Well last night’s dinner was the 4th dinner using this meat, and I still have enough for 1 more meal in the freezer.  Now that was a good buy!

As for the broccoli … oh the broccoli!!!! 

When I was a kid, I absolutely DESPISED broccoli.  I remember my mom always telling me “I cooked it the special way” every single time she served it to us. But no matter what, I never really liked it.  I only started to actually like the stuff in my late teens/early 20’s – and now I LOVE it!  C on the other hand… not so much.  Broccoli is so packed full of vitamins and nutrients that I’ve been racking my brain trying to find a way to make it that would make C at least somewhat enjoy it.  Well, thanks to an idea I got from many bloggers out there, I have finally found a way to make C eat AND like broccoli!

Roast it!

I tossed it in a tiny bit of olive oil, and sprinkle with a bit of garlic powder and St Hubert seasoning.  Roast at 400 deg. for about 20 minutes.  It leaves them so nice and crispy! Such a change from the usual steamed method of cooking! 

C actually came home last night and said “OMG I can’t believe I’m actually craving this broccoli!”. LOL Success!!!

I was craving the taste of French dressing last night as well.. (bad Laura) so I indulged in my craving and had a small bowl of romaine with french along with my broccoli and pork.

It’s all in moderation!!! 😉

I watched Big Brother after my supper (which was soooo good btw) and then found myself craving some dessert.

I didn’t really have anything dessert-wise in the house. What’s a girl to do?

I did have banana’s in the freezer though!!!

So I quickly made myself some peanut butter/chocolate banana soft serve! (made with 1 frozen banana, a tsp of unsalted/unsweetened peanut butter and a tsp of Nutella)

It was pretty much perfect.

That dessert was definitely the perfect end to the night!

I just might have to have it again today! 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 8:58 am

    BB was soooo good yesterday. who is ur fave? i heart Lane!!!

    ur broccoli looks awesome. might try that sometime~

    happy weekending!

    • August 27, 2010 9:08 am

      I was actually rooting for Brendon. lol Now I think I’m rooting for Enzo and Lane!

Leave a Reply

