Skip to content

New Watch and Green Beans

August 26, 2010
tags: ,

Have I ever mentioned how much I HATE being stuck in traffic jams on the highway??? And how much I dislike my car (which on a normal day I LOVE) at those times because of it’s manual transmission?  I was 15 minutes late for work this morning after spending 20 minutes going from 1st to 2nd gear over and over on the 401. How fun!

On another note, a happier note, I had another amazing run last night!  For the first time in MONTHS, I ran 5K! Finally! 🙂  I got to try out yet another new gadget last night too.

Yes, I’m dying for a Garmin to call my own, but for the time being this baby will have to do.  When I mentioned to my mom last week that I wanted to find a cheapie watch with a timer to hold me over, a little lightbulb went off in her head. She remembered that when she joined the local GoodLife over 3 years ago that she was given a watch!  She had never used it and never planned on using it so if she could find it, she told me it would be mine.  Well yesterday she found it! I went to WalMart after work to pick up a $5 battery and I was good to go.  There are no fancy options on this watch like gps or mileage tracking, but it was really nice being able to track my time again. So nice that I can tell you all that 19 minutes in, I got this horrible stitch in the lower right side of my abdomen — the exact same spot I felt it at the 9K mark of my 10K race in May! I pushed through though and by minute 22, I felt better.

The 31:32 was my 5K time last night btw. I’ve got 4 weeks now to make that below 30.

I was absolutely starving by the time I got home and the worst thing that could happen at that point did.  I had NO idea what I was going to make for supper. This forgetting to make a meal plan just can’t happen again!!!

I had some green beans I wanted to use up along with a can of tuna, so I grabbed the Mac and googled “green bean and tuna salad”.  The first recipe that came up was THIS one by Giada De Laurentiis. It looked good, so I started making it right away. 

Although I omitted a few things, I basically used the same recipe and it turned out great!

The salad consisted of green beans, red potatoes, a tomato, some fresh basil from my garden, and a can of tuna. Topped with a dressing made with lemon juice, olive oil, s&p, garlic and oregano.

Can I say yum!?

And perhaps YUMMM!!!

It turned out to be a lovely refreshing meal that made me feel great after my run. (when paired with a big glass of skim milk of course).  This is defintely another recipe that will be added to the “keeper” list! 🙂

Now what will I make tonight?

Have a great day everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 10:18 am

    That’s a great 5K time! Good for you!

  2. August 26, 2010 10:44 am

    ugh i hate traffic too.
    at my last job, i used to commute and take the highway and the 401 was never my friend.

    good job on the run. and for sure u can brign down ur time to under 30 in 4 weeks. good luck!

Leave a Reply

