Skip to content

I Just Baked With A Sweet Potato

August 24, 2010
tags: ,

What a long day!  No joke, my 8-5 work day felt like an 8-8 hour day AT LEAST. Needless to say, I was pretty happy when 5 came around.

I had a hot date with my girl, Chelsea!! 🙂

She was pretty happy to see me today – and vice versa.  The best end to a long day at the office is one spent at the farm.  I spent some quality time with Chels taking my time to groom, and then I tacked up and was ready to ride! Safety First!

We had a fantastic ride and workout.   I hadn’t ridden Chels since last Tuesday due to her getting new shoes, and it felt great to workout together again.

And just FYI….. this is why I buy my riding jeans at Value Village for $5! 😉 The aftermath of Chelsea using my leg as a scratching post after we’re done working.

I then came home to an amazing mail day!!!!

I just love getting mail that’s not bills.

First of all, I got my much anticipated sample of the new Purex Complete laundry sheets. These things look awesome – detergent, softener and anti-static all in one.  Has anyone given it a try yet?

And that wasn’t it for mail!  I also received my very own copy of Caitlin’s book Operation Beautiful. (thank you SOOOOO much K!!!!!!)

I can’t wait to start reading this baby.

Dinner.

Well C and I were very bad this weekend.  In midst of all our running around this past weekend, we neglected to make our meal plan for the week. Not good! Since I didn’t know what I was going to make for supper tonight, I rattled my brain on the drive home and decided to use these:

To any of my fellow Ontarians – particularly any who live in the Durham Region – and who eat meat ( 😉 ) …. WALMART is the place to go to get ground turkey. Check this out! This is their NORMAL price.

I decided to make some turkey meatballs made with the turkey, bread crumbs, dried onion, garlic powder and basil. I then browned them and finished cooking them in white wine.

While those were cooking, I made a quick sauce with sautéed garlic and onions, the rest of my canned tomatoes and some fresh basil.  The zucchini was sautéed on it’s own and then added to the sauce.  I served both the sauce and meatballs on some whole wheat cous cous.

My plate:

It was definitely tasty. 😉

And then there was dessert.

When I read THIS post by Tina over at Carrots ‘N Cake today, I immediately knew that sweet potato blondies would be my dessert tonight. I quickly whipped them up (adding 1 egg, some coconut and topping them with mini chocolate chips).

Yup, those were great! Thanks Tina! 🙂

Well now that my body is happy, I’m off to check out Operation Beautiful!

Good night all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 9:34 am

    My mom bought and used the Purex things when they were in Alberta on vacation, she loved them!

    • August 26, 2010 9:05 am

      Awesome! I can’t wait to try it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

