Skip to content

Boo Ya! I’m Back!

August 23, 2010
tags: , ,

My running mojo has finally returned!

wow that sounds pretty lame doesn’t it 😉

As I’ve mentioned over the past few weeks,  slacked a lot in the running department this summer due to the extremely hot and humid conditions we encountered basically for the entire months of June and July.  This month, I started getting back into it again and now only the 2nd week into my Terry Fox training plan, I finally feel like I’m just about back to where I was condition wise this past spring.

Today felt much like a fall day – and boy do I ever love the fall.  It was a cool 20 degrees and completely cloudy. (photo taken from my patio door, looking to the back yard)

I came straight home after work, made a new play list for my shuffle, put on one of my new running shirts and headed out for my run.

I actually bought two new running shirts at Old Navy this weekend.  Total score!  This one was only $4.99 and the other one was only $5.99! 🙂

My run was FANTASTIC!  I felt a little pain in my shins at the start of the run, but I pushed through and am glad I did.  After the first 10 minutes or so, I felt great and got into such a good grove.  I ran longer than I had originally planned and covered 4.83km which is 3 miles on the dot!  I was hoping to get 5K done but underestimated the distance just a bit. (oh how I wish I owned a Garmin!) I am so glad my condition and finesse has improved so quickly and that I’m already pretty much able to do 5K easily again.  This makes me feel so great because after a few more steady 5K runs, I’ll be able to start speed training with plenty of time before the Terry Fox run!  I really want to finish with a sub-30min time.

Dinner tonight was Turkey Enchilada’s Remixed.

I love that I managed to use up a lot of partials that we had in the fridge/freezer.  I finished off the Ancient Grains tortillas, the enchilada mix that I had made last week, and sauce that I had made Friday.

I was craving some greens along with this, so I made a simple romaine salad with a simple red wine vinaigrette. (made with Dijon mustard, red wine vinegar and olive oil) So easy, and SO good.

My plate

The dinner was amazing and exactly what I needed tonight. C agreed. 😉

We’re now just going to cuddle up and start working on getting caught up with So You Think You Can Dance CANADA!!! 🙂 It’s sooooo good so far!!

Night all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 9:50 am

    good job on the run!
    ya, a garmin is a good thing. but its not a necessity to enjoy a good run.

    ive never bought any workout clothes from Old Navy. Are they good quality? Are they a wicking material?

    • August 24, 2010 10:03 am

      I have put a garmin on my christmas list 😉

      Surprisngly, the Old Navy workout tops are pretty great. My only complaint is that their sizes are all over the place. The one in this pic, and my pink one are both M and fit snug, while the other one I recently picked up is a S and big! So if you decide to give them a shot, just be sure to try on first. 😉 And yes, they are wicking material. I think their normal price is around $17, which is still great. I lucked out and found 2 in their clearance section this weekend so bought them both.

Leave a Reply

