Skip to content

Thunderstorms & Eggs

August 10, 2010

I have a question for you all.  Do you love or hate thunderstorms?

When I was a kid, I remember being terrified by them.  I can just picture myself, cowered beneath my blankets close to tears after being awaken by the loud crashes and flashing light.  Now, in my adult years, I find that I just love thunderstorms.  It’s funny, but now I find thunderstorms sort of soothing.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to fully enjoy yesterday’s thunderstorm because I was in the office and then in the car on my way home.  But boy did we ever get a few loud crashes!  It made me think of this massive storm we had maybe 5 years ago.  It was in the middle of the afternoon and I was at work.  I don’t think I had ever felt so close to the lightning in my life!  The rain poured down, thunder crashed and the lightning hit as close as the building next door! I remember all of us standing at the dock doors of our warehouse looking out only to see the bright flash of lightning smash into the transformers on the roof next door. What a rush!  Yesterday’s storm wasn’t even close to that one, but was still pretty darn cool.

Needless to say, storm after work = no riding for me again.  In the cooler months I don’t mind riding on rainy days because I can ride indoors. But in these hot sticky months, riding inside is like torture!  Thunder, on top of the rain, just isn’t safe to be out and about with the horses either.  Since I had promised myself to try and do something every day after work, I went home and did Jillian’s 30 Day Shred.  It’s funny how sometimes I find the Shred so easy and zip on through, but sometimes I find myself really having to push through to make it to the end.  Yesterday I was definitely pushing myself  to get it done.  Maybe because I didn’t get the best sleep the night before? Or because the weather itself just made me feel tired?  I’m not sure what the cause was, but at least I did it and I’m glad that I did.

After my workout, I found myself really craving eggs for supper. I already knew that C was going to be home pretty late, so I was on my own for supper.  So eggs it was!

I had 2 poached eggs, along with some cucumber, a carrot, a few small pieces of old low-fat cheddar and a piece of whole grain toast.. and a glass of skim milk of course (a glass of skim milk is a staple for all of my suppers at home).  OMG I can’t believe it’s been so long since I had poached eggs. I almost forgot how absolutely incredible they are. MMMMMMMMMMMMMM…

Remember the days where eggs were supposed to not be so good for you?  I just remember growing up loving them so much and only being allowed to have them once a week.  Thank goodness studies have proved that they are in fact amazing for you!  Because I could literally eat poached eggs every single day.

Eggs = awesome!

Have a great day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

