Skip to content

Pre-made Can Be Good!

August 5, 2010

Happy almost-Friday everyone!

Before I get into my amazing eats for today, I have to give a huge shout-out and CONGRATS to Caitlin from Healthy Tipping Point!  Caitlin not only officially released her first book “Operation Beautiful” on Tuesday, but this morning she was a guest on the Today Show! How amazing is that?!

I can’t even begin to start about how much this girl has inspired me over the past 8 months or so since I had discovered her blog. I was beaming when I watched my PVR’d version of the show this evening. I’ve been dying to get this book in my hands for months now but unfortunately for some reason it’s not going to be released in Canada until the 10th (according to the Chapters website). So next week it is!

Ok, now onto my eats for the day. Holy Yum!

My day started with an INCREDIBLE overnight oats & PB/chocolate parfait. OMG I can’t even begin to describe how divine that breakfast was. I was also a very bad blogger and completely forgot to take a picture of it.  I plan to make the same tomorrow though, so I promise a picture and recipe will appear on here in the very near future!

Lunch consisted of a bowl of veggie and barley soup (including a ton of kale) and a portebello mushroom burger. Courtesy of my mom, as I go for a visit and lunch at my parents’ house to spend time with my mom every day Mon-Fri for lunch.  (I’m spoiled, I know) Snacks included a yogurt and a blue menu blueberry granola bar in the am and a nice juicy MacIntosh apple with some PB in the aft.

I was so glad that I could actually breathe when I stepped out of the office today! That meant I’d finally get in that ride on Chelsea that I’ve been wanting for the past few days.  Although the thermometer on my car still showed 30deg C when I arrived at the farm after work, with no humidity and a huge breeze made it feel great!  I tacked up and we actually had an amazing ride and workout.  I can’t even describe how good it feels when my day ends with a great ride like that.

By the time I got home, I was STARVING!  When I go to the farm after work, I only end up getting home around 7pm.  I already knew that C would be late coming home from work today, so  I was in charge of supper.  Days like today are when I’m so glad we decided to make a meal plan!  Since Thursdays are usually busy for both of us, we planned on something quick, simple, but of course, healthy.

President’s Choice Blue Menu Wild Pacific Salmon Burgers!

We picked up a box of these burgers a few weeks ago when they were on sale for $4.99 (reg. $8.99) and after trying them and LOVING them, rushed back to the store to get another box for the freezer before the sale ended.  They make such a delicious, quick and healthy meal.  I don’t like to buy much in terms of pre-made, packaged foods, but I definitely don’t feel bad about buying and eating these.

I ended up BBQing the entire pack leaving enough for C and myself for supper, and one for C to take for his lunch tomorrow. I had my salmon burger on a Dempster’s 100% whole grain sandwich thin toasted, with sliced local cucumber and tomatoes along with a squirt of lemon .. and a carrot on the side.  Yum!!

Even though I was full after this supper, I was bad and decided to treat myself…… 😉 To a little bit of my absolute FAVOURITE frozen yogurt!! Chapman’s Rocky Road.  OMG this stuff is TO DIE FOR!  It’s literally loaded with whole almonds and brownie pieces. I honestly have no idea how this lasts longer than a week in this house.

My body is now relaxed and content. 🙂

On that note, time for me to get back to watching Big Brother!!! I can’t believe how addicted I am to that show.

So pumped that tomorrow is Friday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 11:41 pm

    I’m so glad you posted this! I was looking for something like this…might try these near the end of next week, since I just had salmon the last two days. I might also have to steal your pork burgers…they sort of remind me of a schnitzel, but healthier! And I loove a good schnitzel.

Leave a comment