Skip to content

How About A FABS Challenge?

April 28, 2010

What can I say? There are some pretty inspirational women out there in the blogging and online discussion board world. If I look back to where I was this time last year, I can honestly say that yes, I was living a healthy lifestyle, but I also knew deep down that I could do even better.

At 26 years old, I’m at that stage in my life where I have found that AMAZING man with whom I hope to spend the rest of my life with.  I am also at that stage where the thought of babies crosses my mind all the time.  I’m not going to lie, it’s like I have this itch!! Anyway, I really truly, deep down in my heart, want to do whatever is physically possible to make my body the best it can possible be inside and out – not only for myself (obviously), but for C (my amazing ‘other half’), and to be honest our future child.  Now I’m not saying we have immediate plans to go start having kids now! lol But within a few years, that will happen! I just want to make sure that my body is as physically ready as possible…. and what can I say? When the time comes, I want to be one of those super hot mommy’s who can easily bounce back to a pre-baby figure!  I figure if I get in a good routine now, it should be easier to just keep on going with it!

So now that you know what’s been going on through my head these past few months, on to my actual point of this post.  🙂

I’ve been inspired in a BIG WAY by Angela over at Oh She Glows.  I discovered Angela’s blog just over a month ago and have been hooked ever since.  It’s been really great reading about how she managed to turn her life around with healthy eating and different forms of exercise.  She’s from Ontario just like me AND she’s also the gorgeous girl behind the famous Green Monsters!  While looking around on Angela’s blog last week, I had noticed that she held 2 different ab workout challenges in the months before I knew about her little blog world.  It didn’t take me long to realize that along with my even better eating habits, daily runs or rides, I needed to include one more form of exercise to work on my core.  A strong core would 1. make me look how I have always wanted to look! and 2. actually really help improve both my running and riding.

One of the lovely ladies over on the Smart Canucks message board had started up a FABS (Flat ABs For Summer) challenge a couple of weeks ago.  I was a great participant the first week around, but completely fell off the wagon the second week after C helped to show me the PROPER way to do the situps and crunches. I wasn’t working hard enough at them meaning all my work wasn’t really helping much.  When the idea was brought up on Smart Canucks to do a second FABS challenge, I instantly thought of the challenges Angela did on Oh She Glows.  Instead of doing numbers of situps, her challenges consisted more of yoga-type exercises!  It deemed a little more interesting and hey! I’ve always wanted to try some sort of yoga-ish stuff. 😉

So without further ado, I present my own (well Angela’s) version of the FABS Challenge.  It can be found by clicking on FABS at the top of this page in the menu bar. Let me know if you’re in! 🙂  

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 12:49 pm

    I’m in!!! Let me know what I gotta do!

Leave a Reply

