Skip to content

From My Kitchen – The Pierogi

April 22, 2010

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this on here before but C is Polish.  Since meeting him 2 years ago, I’ve had the opportunity to be introduced to many authentic and delicious Polish foods.  I certainly had pierogi before meeting him, but only the kind you buy frozen from the grocery store.  The grocery store versions can’t even compare to authentic homemade ones!  I honestly don’t know why the thought came to my mind but a couple of days ago, I decided that I wanted to surprise C by trying my hand at making authentic pierogi for supper.  I found a recipe that looked easy enough and decided that I would tackle it last night with my own little healthy twist! 😉

I am happy to report that my homemade pierogi were a complete SUCCESS!!!  I can’t wait to whip these up for C’s parents one day to see if they even compare to the ones they would eat in Poland.

Since I love pictures, here’s a photo montage of my very first pierogi-making experience. (Please disregard the lovely burn stains on my stove top – had an overflow when boiling my potatoes).

Pierogi dough ready to be refrigerated

Dough rolled out - cutting out round pieces

Stretched out piece ready for filling!

Potato/cheese/green onion filling

Filling added to dough

Hey! It's a pierog!

Putting into boiling water to cook

Draining cooked pierogi

Getting onion/garlic mixture ready to fry the pierogi

Mmmmmmm...

Ready to eat! .. with plain fat-free yogurt of course!

These babies were actually very simple to make, it was just a tad on the time-consuming side. It probably took me about 1.5 hours to make 14 of them and I still have leftover batter and filling to make more on the weekend

If you’re craving pierogi now and are feeling ambitious, here’s the recipe!

The “Healthier” Pierogi

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour, plus extra for kneading and rolling dough
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup 0% fat plain yogurt, plus extra to serve with the pierogi
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened and cut into small pieces
  • olive oil, garlic and onions for sauteing
  • ingredients for filling of your choice (potato, green onion & cheese filling recipe below)
  • To prepare the pierogi dough, mix together the flour and salt. Beat the egg, then add all at once to the flour mixture. Add the 1/2 cup yogurt and the softened butter pieces and work until the dough loses most of its stickiness (about 5-7 minutes). You can use a food processor with a dough hook for this, but be careful not to overbeat. Wrap the dough in plastic and refrigerate for 20-30 minutes or overnight; the dough can be kept in the refrigerator for up to 2 days. Each batch of dough makes about 12-15 pierogies, depending on size.

    While the dough is chilling, you can prep the filling. Boil approximately 4 red potatoes until soft. Mash together with old low-fat cheese and 3-4 chopped green onions then put aside.

    Roll the pierogi dough on a floured board or countertop until 1/8″ thick. Cut circles of dough with a cookie cutter or drinking glass. Place a small ball of filling (about a tablespoon) on each dough round and fold the dough over, forming a semi-circle. Press the edges together so that the edges are completely sealed.

    Boil the perogies a few at a time in a large pot of water. They are done when they float to the top (about 8-10 minutes). Rinse in cool water and let dry.

    Saute chopped onions and some smashed cloves of garlic in a small glug of olive oil in a large pan until onions are soft. Then add pierogies and pan fry until lightly crispy. Serve with a side of 0% fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream – you get the same taste but with better health benefits.

    enjoy!!!

    One Comment leave one →
    1. April 23, 2010 7:49 pm

      I always make a ton of pierogis and then freeze whatever’s left over! It’s such a long task but it’s so yummy!!

    Leave a Reply

