Skip to content

Ikea Chair Makeover

April 2, 2010

So when I first moved into my house 3 years ago, I bought myself one of those Ikea Poang chairs. Since I was obviously on a budget, I bought the simple black frame with the cheapest ivory cushion. I loved the simplicity and clean look of it and it looked great in my living room….. until the day when I wasn’t thinking and left my bottle of floor cleaner on the chair. A few days after that stupid move, I noticed that the cleaner had leaked causing the ink from the hot pink pillow that I had on the chair, to bleed into my ivory cushion. I tried washing but I couldn’t get the bright pink stain out of the seat portion of this chair.

I just simply hid the bright pink stain for the past year or so until I finally decided it was time to do something about it and cover that baby up! Unfortunately Ikea does not sell slipcovers for this chair, and I didn’t want to fork out $80 for a whole new cushion so I set out to the web and did a search. I found some amazing slipvcovers, however they cost close to $100!!!!! That just would not do!!

Next step? Cover it myself!

I went to Ikea and bought this fabric which only cost me $10.50!!!

Fabric for my slipcover

I then brought out my sewing machine and got to work! Here are a series of photos throughout the process, including the finished product.

The bright pink stain

No home project is complete without a pic of my helper Boo

Trying it on for size

Ta Da!! The finished product

My refreshed reading area

All this for only $10.50 and a little bit of sewing time. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 2:08 am

    I have that exact chair! And that’s amazing what you did..I wish I could sew like that. In highschool sewing class I got my friends do all my work for me…where did that get me now??
    Cute blog 🙂

    http://bottleblack.blogspot.com

  2. April 5, 2010 1:03 pm

    The chair looks awesome! I wish I could recover our Ikea couches for $10.50 😦

Leave a Reply

