Skip to content

Ten On Tuesday

March 23, 2010

1. When you were a senior in high school, what career did you think you’d choose? Did you? Why or why not?
When I was a senior in high school I didn’t really know what I wanted to do. Earlier in my high school years, I had toyed with the ideas of wanting to be a surgeon (like grade 10ish). I LOVED grade 10 biology and even got to attend a medical symposium at Queen’s University, which was super cool.  As high school went on, I realized that I didn’t have the talent in the maths and sciences to pursue this type of career, so my focus changed.  In grade 12 I had taken and Ancient History class and was so intrigued! When the time came to apply for universities in my grade 13 year (we still had grade 13 here when I was in school), I was lucky enough to have the freedom to pick a university and take something that really interested me.  I had applied to 3 Ontario universities and even one in the US.  The plan for the US school was to take my horse Chelsea with me and take a therapeutic riding degree. I actually got accepted!! But, they could only offer me a $3000 scholarship, which just wasn’t enough to cover all of my costs. So I ended up going to the University of Guelph and earned my Bachelor of Arts Honours degree in Classical Studies – which is Ancient Greek and Roman Art/Literature/History. I LOVED my entire 4 years of university and the content I studied. Am I working in a field based on my degree? Not at all. But that’s ok. I will find a job I love just as much as I loved school one day.

2. What one thing about the “real world” did you find most surprising once you were on your own?
I think it’s safe to say that money is the big kicker in this ‘real world’.  You don’t realize how valuable it REALLY is until you’re out there living.  I have a mortgage to worry about, car payments, insurance for the car and the house, hydro bills, gas bills, phone/tv bills, horse bills… FOOD bills.. TAXES! It’s almost disgustingly amazing how it all adds up with the blink of an eye. I’m not going to lie, it can be pretty scary at times, but you just learn to get through it.

3. Name 3 things you think your closest friends DON’T like about you.
Wow that’s a blunt question. I’m not going to lie, I sadly don’t even really have any super close friends.. the few who I thought were my best friends throughout university, quickly pulled away when we graduated and I started a life with a house, car, etc. Seriously! the day I get married, my maid of honour is going to have to be my mom or something! .. so yes, due to these circumstances let’s just skip this one. 😉

4. In order to sleep, do you need background noise or absolute quiet?
It doesn’t really matter actually. I can sleep in pretty much any condition. Music blasting or so quiet that you can hear a pin drop.  I have my parents to thank for that. When I was a baby they continued on with home renovations using radial arm saws right outside of my bedroom as I slept.

5. Why do you choose to reside in your current city? Yes, you have a choice.
I still wanted to be close to my parents and work, and I didn’t want to have to move my horse.  The town I live in is just a little out of the way, but the prices of the homes were/are much cheaper than the city my parents live in – taxes are cheaper too.  I also really love the small town, quiet atmosphere.  Perfect for me – someone who grew up in the country.

6. Are you close to your parents?
Yes, very close. I consider my mom my best friend.

7. What is your favorite fiction book? Poem? Blog?
Favorite fiction book- this might seem like an odd choice but “A Million Little Pieces” by James Frey

Favorite Poem- Not really big on the poetry thing…

Favorite Blog- It’s tough to pick just one, but if I had to pick one I’d say “Healthy Tipping Point”  I always look forward to seeing what Caitlin has to say next!

8. Do you enjoy cooking or is it a chore?
I absolutely love cooking.  Always thought it would be awesome to get to cook/bake for a living without having to work stupid hours.

9. Be honest. What one thing would (the majority of) your blog readers be shocked to find out about you?
I honestly don’t know what to write here. I’m a pretty plain jane type of girl. No tattoos, only 1 piercing in each ear… no awful vices.. I’m not a very exciting person!

10. If you were given your own national holiday, what would you require people to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner on the Day of You? Would there be a parade? Greeting cards?

Breakfast would be egg mcmuffins mmmm (with no butter of course), for lunch? soft tacos… dinner the most tender and juiciest tenderloin steaks we can find! No one will have to work and the sun will shine all day long.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 12:31 pm

    You had a horse named Chelsea?

    I like the food you chose for your day!

Leave a Reply

